About the peapod family...


           Stories from the Heart

                              from the Heart of England!


The Peapod Family is a series of children’s stories about a family of peas who live in the vegetable plot of Sir Edward Mortimer's large garden. Follow the stories as they bump into some comical characters along the way and share in their many mischievous adventures.

Pippy Pea, Sweet Pea and Petit Pea plush dolls with zip-up Peapod.


The books were written and illustrated by Kate Pointon and are dedicated to the life of her late father, Colin Mortimer who Grandad pea is based on.

In life, Colin was very talented in wood working , self taught, he had quite a flair for building Dolls Houses , also if ever anyone wanted anything made of wood, they all  went to Colin.

In the Peapod family books , clever old Grandad Pea, he too has a gift but he makes things out of garden waste.

The first book went on sale in 2007 , sales were good and a demand was met for more, so in 2008 four more new titles were added,

also a toy was designed and went into production , which again has proved so popular, a much treasured toy.












In the stories, Kate used many familiar items from her parents garden in the stories.

‘Center Parcs’ also gave written permission to use their name for one of the book titles

just as long as their way of spelling it was used, which indeed it was . It was here,

at Center Parcs at the  end of 2004 that the first book was written, currently, there are

5 stories available .

There is a limited edition of just 200 box set of 4 books, all signed in a cardboard

folder. Also the Peapod toy ,which houses the three peapod children from the stories.

This soft and cuddly zipped  toy and removable little pea babies has proved to be

inseparable from the children that own them.



the peapod best pic image1 (3) image1 (4) image1 (3) image1 image1 (1)